Full Frame Photography

It’s been two years since I started posting a daily photo; in all cases a photo taken on the day it was posted.  I am gratified to have well over 200,000 views of these nearly 720 images.  [Most days I also add 5- 8 images to my Flickr account too – I have nearly 5000 photos loaded there.]

My post popular “Blipfoto” ever was Innocence  posted Nov 16/2014 – out of abundance of caution, I almost never post photos of young children (my grandsons excepted) but this little chap proved to be a real winner.

Following a little review of some of my favorite posts from the last three months or so.  Just click on the highlighted links.  [All of these were taken in either Ontario or Mexico].

Nov 30 – Amphibious – I went 5 km out to sea with 90 Mexicans – they all swam back to shore – my camera and I stayed in the boat.

Dec 13 – Arte Nativo – I love to do portraits with my camera down low or even on the ground.

Dec 25 – Dumpster Diving on Christmas Day – I thought it was ironic that while most of us where looking under Christmas trees, these two were checking what was thrown away.

Dec 26 – Last Man Standing was a photo of a brave little chap determined to play hockey in the big leagues some day.

Jan 22 – Hand Signals was my take on the sport of beach volleyball.

Jan 29 – Derelict Beach House was a selfie I took inside an abandoned mansion on a gorgeous secluded beach near Zihuatanejo.

Jan 31 – I almost never post a sunset or sunrise even though we have one of each daily, so I was a little bummed to have a tuba player photobomb my first attempt.

Feb 09 – Le Style ce Moi was a spectacular display of body art – something which I still photograph quite often;

Feb 15 – When the smoke gets in your eyes is probably self-explanatory; sometime sepia images work really well.

Feb 22 – On her knees is a photo which captures both the religiosity and the glamour so very present in Mexico;

Feb 26 – A high key image of a Hungry Thief.  No I did not turn him in even though I witnessed the theft.

On the technical side, about six months ago I acquired a full frame Nikon D800 with a 28 – 300 mm zoom lens; I also have a D7000 with a 10 – 24 mm lens.  I now shoot all my photos in RAW and use Lightroom and/or Photoshop Elements for post processing.

You can see my daily photo blogs at www.polaroidblipfoto.com/RaspberryJefe; they are also posted to Facebook if you want to be my friend.  My Flickr username is RaspberryJefe or use this link:  https://www.flickr.com/photos/97184393@N03/

Comments are more than welcome.

About Al Doerksen

I'm sort of a vocational tramp; my working career divides about evenly between non-profit and the business worlds. I have lived in Mexico, India, Germany and Canada, and now USA. I've had the good fortune to travel to 90 countries of which at least half are developing countries. The last 25 years of my "career" have involved significant (and enjoyable) international management challenges: travel industry, furniture manufacturing, food (aid) programming and ultraviolet water treatment among others. I'm now leading a development enterprise called IDE.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Full Frame Photography

  1. doradueck says:

    Great to see this review of some of your favorites. I like them all. The water in “Amphibious” is just incredible. One can almost feel its wetness.

  2. Dayna Dueck says:

    Fantastic photos, all of them! I love the processing and composition on “Thief”! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

