Ra’pberries are my favourite

the raspberry touch

When I was 14, my sister & I shipped off to spend the summer with an uncle & aunt on their raspberry farm. We spent the season picking – as I recall, I could pick up to 8 flats a day. [Unlike strawberries, you can pick raspberries standing up – much better for you ergonomically]. Being paid by the flat was an incentive to do more than sample the wares, but not a sufficient discincentive to fail to indulge. Hate to admit that it was almost 50 years ago, but raspberries are still my favourite fruit.
The first thing I always check for when shopping for groceries is the availability of raspberries. I buy them summer and winter, organic and non, and must confess, I do not look at the price. I just have to have them.  I’ll eat them in the car, with granola or cereal for breakfast, or on pancakes, and with ice cream any day of the week.

raspberry jefe 1

More recently, my little grandson Matias, cursed / blessed with a plethora of food allergies has become a kindred spirit. Like me, he can eat an entire package of “ra’pberries” between the time his parents enter Zehr’s and reaching the checkout cashier. His parents grow raspberries in their backyard, which Matias picks but he saves some for Grandpa – a consideration which I appreciate. 
Not only does he enjoy their flavour, he has also developed a tactile appreciation for these aesthetic fruits.
It’s the simple pleasures in life which are often the best. Raspberries, and a little friend who shares them with you.

About Al Doerksen

I'm sort of a vocational tramp; my working career divides about evenly between non-profit and the business worlds. I have lived in Mexico, India, Germany and Canada, and now USA. I've had the good fortune to travel to 90 countries of which at least half are developing countries. The last 25 years of my "career" have involved significant (and enjoyable) international management challenges: travel industry, furniture manufacturing, food (aid) programming and ultraviolet water treatment among others. I'm now leading a development enterprise called IDE.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Ra’pberries are my favourite

  1. viola kaethler says:

    Hi Al, just stopped in to check out the blog finally! I also share your love of raspberries, and while Terry could go all summer without eating one, during all his summers picking on his parent’s bushes, to this day he could live without them, but graciously looks after a small row of them in our backyard, which brings me a great deal of pleasure every year. I love to go out to my own backyard for some fresh ones while they last!

    Enjoy your summer delights!

Leave a comment